Reporting an Animal Bite
It is required by Chapter 381, Florida Statutes & Chapter 64D-3, Florida Administrative Code that all animal exposures, from a suspected or known rabid animal, are reported to the Florida Department of Health (FDOH) in the county in which the incident occurred.
NOTE: A suspected rabid animal is any mammal capable of transmitting rabies. An animal cannot be ruled out as suspect until a full rabies investigation is completed by FDOH or a negative laboratory result is obtained. Therefore, all exposures need to be reported to FDOH.
The FDOH will follow up on all human exposures reported to determine whether
Domestic animals (dogs, cats, and ferrets) which bite or otherwise potentially expose a person to rabies can be confined for observation for 10 days. Horses can be confined for a 14-day observation period. These confinement periods will be determined by FDOH.
How to report an animal bite to FDOH Hillsborough County:
NEW! – Scan the QR code with your mobile device.
Need another way? Download the Animal Bite Report form and fax it to the victim’s county of residence.
Hillsborough Fax: 813-272-7242