Skip Global navigation and goto content

It's a New Day in Public Health.

The Florida Department of Health works to protect, promote & improve the health of all people in Florida through integrated state, county & community efforts.

Skip MegaMenu and goto content

How to Get Vaccinated in Hillsborough County

By Kevin Watler, Public Information Officer

January 22, 2021

The Florida Department of Health and Florida Division of Emergency Management announced a new state-supported COVID-19 vaccination site at the University Mall, 2200 E. Fowler Ave., Tampa, FL 33612. This site will be open seven days a week, 8 a.m. – 4 p.m. and will offer the vaccine to all individuals 65 years of age and older, as well as frontline health care workers.

The site will offer 1,600 doses of the Pfizer vaccine to pre-registered individuals per day, free of charge. No walk-ups will be accepted. 

To make an appointment, please call 1-866-200-3896, TTY 1-833-476-1029.

After receiving their first vaccination, individuals will be contacted to arrange a time to receive their second dose. Persons who receive their first dose will need to return in three weeks for the second dose.

All individuals will be asked to make an appointment and are encouraged to bring a government-issued form of identification and health insurance information to the site. 

These state-supported sites will increase public access to the COVID-19 vaccine under Florida’s “Seniors First” proactive vaccination plan that prioritizes offering the COVID-19 vaccine to Floridians 65 years of age and older. More information on the “Seniors First” commitment is available here.

Information Regarding Second Doses for People Vaccinated Jan. 6-9 or Jan. 13-15

People who received their first injection at any of Hillsborough County’s public vaccination sites (Ed Radice Sports Complex, Strawberry Festival grounds, University Mall, or Vance Vogel Sports Complex) on Jan. 6-9 or Jan. 13-15 will be able to return to those sites for their second dose. In the coming days, these individuals will be contacted to confirm their second appointment.
 
People returning for second doses must bring a photo ID with their name and date of birth (for example: Florida driver's license, state-issued ID, or passport), and the COVID-19 Vaccine Record Card that was issued at the time of the first injection.
 
The two authorized and recommended vaccines to prevent COVID-19 in the United States both need two doses to be most effective, according to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. The state of Florida has assured counties, including Hillsborough, that there will be enough vaccine in the state’s inventory to provide these second doses.

For more information regarding second doses, go to HCFLGov.net/Vaccine and click on the “I Have an Appointment, Now What?” button. 

Prioritization of Floridans for COVID-19 Vaccinations

State Surgeon General Dr. Scott Rivkees signed a Public Health Advisory prioritizing Florida residents for COVID-19 vaccinations given in Florida.

This advisory outlines who is eligible to receive a COVID-19 vaccine, and provides clear direction and proof-of-residency requirements for all entities administering the vaccine in Florida.


Click here to read the Public Health Advisory.

Florida Statutes 381.986(5)(b)

To prove residency:

  1. An adult resident must provide the department with a copy of his or her valid Florida driver license issued under s. 322.18 or a copy of a valid Florida identification card issued under s. 
    322.051.

  2. An adult seasonal resident who cannot meet the requirements of subparagraph 1. may provide the department with a copy of two of the following that show proof of residential address:

    a. A deed, mortgage, monthly mortgage statement, mortgage payment booklet or residential rental or lease agreement.

    b. One proof of residential address from the seasonal resident’s parent, step-parent, legal guardian or other person with whom the seasonal resident resides and a statement from the person with whom the seasonal resident resides stating that the seasonal resident does reside with him or her.

    c. A utility hookup or work order dated within 60 days before registration in the medical use registry.

    d. A utility bill, not more than 2 months old.

    e. Mail from a financial institution, including checking, savings, or investment account statements, not more than 2 months old.

    f. Mail from a federal, state, county, or municipal government agency, not more than 2 months old.

    g. Any other documentation that provides proof of residential address as determined by department rule.

  3. A minor must provide the department with a certified copy of a birth certificate or a current record of registration from a Florida K-12 school and must have a parent or legal guardian who meets the requirements of subparagraph 1.
For the purposes of this paragraph, the term “seasonal resident” means any person who temporarily resides in this state for a period of at least 31 consecutive days in each calendar year, maintains a temporary residence in this state, returns to the state or jurisdiction of his or her residence at least one time during each calendar year, and is registered to vote or pays income tax in another state or jurisdiction.

 
Click here for the LATEST NEWSLETTER or view our Email Campaign Archive

Not signed up for our newsletter? To sign up, CLICK HERE.