skip to content

How to Order Birth Certificates

Birth/Death Certificates

How to Order Birth Certificates STEP BY STEP

Step 1  -  Determine your eligibility (relationship) to receive a birth certificate

You must meet one (1) of the following criteria:
-  Be the child named on the certificate AND 18 years of age or older.
-  Be the parent, guardian or legal representative of the person named on the certificate, or
-  Have a court order. Additional birth certificate eligibility information
If the person was not born in Florida - visit born in another state or born in another country
 

Step 2  -  Provide information about the child or person named on the certificate

-  Full name of child at birth and any subsequent legal name changes
-  Date of birth
-  City or county of birth
-  Mother's full name including her maiden surname
-  Father's full name (if his name is on the record)
 

Step 3  -  Provide information about the person ordering the certificate 

-  Full name
-  Relationship to person (child) named on the certificate (father, mother, self, etc.)
-  Mailing address (include city, state and zip code)
-  Phone number where you can be reached during business hours (8:00am to 5:00pm Eastern Time)
-  Signature of applicant
All letters or applications must include a copy of a valid current PICTURE ID (Driver's License, State Identification Card, Passport, and/or Military Identification Card) of the applicant. For example, if you are requesting your child's certificate, include a copy of your own ID since you are the applicant. Enlarge the copy and lighten it as much as possible to ensure it is clear and readable when sent to the The Florida Department of Health in Hillsborough County's Vital Statistics Office. DO NOT SEND ORIGINAL DOCUMENTS. If you are the legal guardian, please include notarized guardianship documents.

 

Step 4  -  Types of certificates and Fees 

Computer Certificate - $14.00 Additional Copies - $9.00 (when ordered at the same time) Protective Plastic Cover - $3.00  

- Computer generated certification with the embossed Seal of Florida. Accepted by all state and federal agencies as legal proof of birth and citizenship. Available from 1917 to present.

Commemorative Certificate

-  The State of Florida issues commemorative birth and marriage certificates, signed by the current Governor and State Registrar of Vital Statistics. The certificates contain calligraphy style printing, gold embossed state seals, and are suitable for framing and preserving as family heirlooms, but not to be intended as proof of birth or marriage.  Commemorative Certificates may be obtained from the State Office of Vital Statistics.

Certificate prior to 1917

-  State law did not require birth registration until 1917. However, there are some records on file at the State Office of Vital Statistics dating back to 1865. Most birth records between the years 1917 to present can be obtained through this office. Records on birth events that occurred in 1917 or earlier may be obtained from the State Office of Vital Statistics. Birth records under seal by reason of adoption, paternity determination or court order cannot be ordered in this manner. For a record under seal write to: State Office of Vital Statistics, Attn: Records Amendment Section, Post Office Box 210, Jacksonville, Florida 32231-0042.

 

Step 5  -  Choose a delivery method  

Walk In - If you walk into any one of our Vital Statistics locations in Hillsborough County.

Payment Type Accepted: Cash, Money Order, Cashiers Check, Visa or Mastercard (debit or credit)

Extra Cost: None

Estimated Processing Time:  While you wait

FAX - You may fax the application to (813) 903-3370.

Payment Type Accepted: Visa or Mastercard (debit or credit)

Extra Cost: $10.00 expedite fee

Estimated Processing Time:  Same Day or Next Day

Note:If we receive your VALID application and supporting documents by 12:00 pm (noon), your documents will be placed in the mail the same day. If we receive your VALID application and supporting documents after 12:00 p.m. (noon), your documents will be placed in the mail the next business day.

Mail - You may mail your VALID application and supporting documents to:

Florida Department of Health in Hillsborough County Vital Statistics P.O. Box 5135 Tampa, Florida 33675-5135Payment Type Accepted: Money Order, Cashiers Check, Visa or Mastercard (debit or credit)

Extra Cost: None  Estimated Processing Time:  5 - 10 Business Days  OR

Rush Extra Cost: $10.00 Rush Fee to get it the Same Day or Next Day

Note: 

If we receive your VALID application and supporting documents by 12:00 pm (noon), your documents will be placed in the mail the same day.

If we receive your VALID application and supporting documents after 12:00 p.m. (noon), your documents will be placed in the mail the next business day.

Note:  You may include a pre-paid envelope with your documents BUT unless you include a mail rush processing fee of $10.00, we still have 5 - 10 business days to process your request.  

Phone - You may order a birth certificate by phone through VitalChek (Hillsborough County):

Phone: (866) 830-1906   Fax: (866) 634-1907

Payment Type Accepted: Visa or Mastercard (debit or credit)

Extra Cost: Additional VitalChek fees apply

Apply Online - You may order a birth certificate online through VitalChek (Hillsborough County)

Payment Type Accepted: Visa or Mastercard (debit or credit)

Extra Cost: Additional VitalChek fees apply