
APPLICATION FOR AMENDMENT TO FLORIDA DEATH OR FETAL DEATH RECORD 

IMPORTANT:  Read the entire application form before completing 
TYPE OR PRINT 

Requirement  for ordering cause of death:    If you are an eligible applicant  (See ELIGIBILITY), complete and  sign  this application, state  relationship and provide photo 
identification.  Depending on relationship, additional documentation supporting need for cause of death information may be required, refer to ELIGIBILITY.  If you are a 
funeral director or attorney representing an eligible person, you need only sign, provide professional license or bar number, indicate name of person whom you represent 
and their relationship to the decedent in the appropriate spaces below.  If applicant is not an eligible person, Affidavit to Release Cause of Death, DH Form 1959, must be 
completed and signed by an eligible person before a notarizing official and submitted in addition to this application form.  Acceptable forms of photo identification are the 
following: Driver’s License, State Identification Card, Passport, and/or Military Identification Card. 

NAME OF DECEDENT/INFANT 
 

FIRST  MIDDLE  LAST  SEX 

DATE OF DEATH 
MONTH  DAY  YEAR (4 DIGIT) 

PLACE of DEATH 
CITY or TOWN  COUNTY 

FLORIDA 

  
Check Type of Filing:                   Death            Fetal Death       Fees are nonrefundable 

MEDICAL AMENDMENT: (Refer to section in Instructions entitled Medical Amendment for description). 

 No amendment fee required; however, if certification of amended record desired, fee of $5.00 is required for 1
st
 copy. 

Do you need cause of death on this first certification?  Yes  No 

Fee 

$5.00 

Quantity
 
1 

Amount

 

 

NON‐MEDICAL AMENDMENT:  $20.00 (Includes search and one certification of amended record) Any change to a record other 
than those defined in the section in Instructions entitled Medical Amendment in considered a Non‐Medical Amendment. 

Do you need cause of death on this first certification   Yes  No 

 
$20.00 

 

Quantity
 
1 

Amount

 

 

Additional copies are $4.00 each when ordered with this request  $4.00  X 
Number With Cause

+
Number Without Cause

=
$ 

RUSH ORDERS (Optional):  $10.00 per order.  Envelope must be marked “RUSH”.    Yes  No  
                   (Refer to information entitled Response Time)  $ 
 
TOTAL AMOUNT ENCLOSED:  Check or money order payable in U.S. Dollars to Vital Statistics (DO NOT SEND CASH) 

Florida Law imposes an additional service charge of $15 for dishonored checks $ 

To provide false information relative to an amendment of a Florida death record or obtain confidential information contained on a Florida death record under 
false or fraudulent purposes is a third‐degree felony punishable by the terms and conditions as set forth in Florida Statutes. 

 
APPLICANT NAME/DELIVERY INFORMATION 

Applicant’s 
Name 

TYPE OR PRINT 

FIRST  MIDDLE  LAST (INCLUDING ANY SUFFIX)  RELATIONSHIP TO 
DECEDENT 

DELIVERY ADDRESS (INCLUDE APT. NUMBER, IF APPLICABLE)   CITY  STATE  ZIP CODE 

HOME PHONE NUMBER INCLUDING AREA CODE 
 
(          ) 

WORK PHONE NUMBER INCLUDING AREA CODE 
 

(          ) 

SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT 

ATTORNEY OR FUNERAL DIRECTOR MUST PROVIDE BAR OR 
PROFESSIONAL LICENSE NUMBER 

ATTORNEY OR FUNERAL DIRECTOR MUST PROVIDE NAME OF PERSON YOU REPRESENT AND THEIR RELATIONSHIP 
TO REGISTRANT 

IF THE CERTIFICATION IS TO BE MAILED TO ANOTHER PERSON OR ADDRESS USE THE SPACES BELOW TO SPECIFY SHIP TO NAME AND ADDRESS. 

SHIP TO NAME 
TYPE OR PRINT 

FIRST  MIDDLE  LAST  SUFFIX 

HOME PHONE NUMBER 

(           ) 

SHIP TO STREET ADDRESS (AND APT.) 

WORK PHONE NUMBER 

(           ) 

CITY  STATE  ZIP CODE 

DH 524, 6/13 (Obsoletes previous editions which may not be used)  
 
 
 
 



 

INFORMATION AND INSTRUCTIONS FOR DEATH AMENDMENT APPLICATION 

Statute/Rule references may be accessed through the website address at the bottom of this form 

CAUSE OF DEATH INFORMATION:  Pursuant to s. 382.025, Florida Statutes, except for those deaths occurring over 50 years ago, cause 
of death information is confidential pursuant to Florida law and may only be issued as indicated in the section below. Cause of death 
information on death records over 50 years old or a death certificate without cause of death is available to anyone of legal age 
(18) completing an application and submitting the required fee. 

ELIGIBILITY: Death records with the cause of death information may only be issued to the following individuals: 

 The decedent’s spouse or parent; child, grandchild or sibling, if of legal age; 

 To any person who provides a will, insurance policy or other document that demonstrates his or her interest in the estate 
of the decedent; 

 To any person who provides documentation that he or she is acting on behalf of any of the before named persons; or 

 Court order. 

REQUIREMENTS FOR OBTAINING CAUSE OF DEATH INFORMATION:  Except for a legal representative such as an attorney or funeral 
director, all requests for certification of a death certificate that includes the cause of death information, must include signature of the 
applicant, state his or her qualifying eligibility AND provide photo identification.  If you are a funeral director or attorney representing an 
eligible person as listed above, include your professional license or bar number and the name and relationship of the person you are 
representing.  If you are not one of the persons listed above, you may only obtain cause of death information by submitting an 
affidavit signed by an eligible person before a notarizing official or by court order.  A form entitled Affidavit To Release Cause of 
Death Information, DH Form 1959, is available upon request from this office, most local vital statistics offices within the county 
health department and our website. 

If after reading the above information you are still uncertain regarding your eligibility for cause of death information, call our office (904) 
359‐6900 extension 9000 for assistance.   

NOTE:  If needed for filing probate, be aware that Florida clerks of court will not accept a death record with cause of death shown. 

MEDICAL AMENDMENT:  Includes cause of death, manner of death, date of death, hour or time of death, place of death (other than 
street address). 

MISSING DATA:  A search cannot be made without the decedent’s name and year.  If any of the other items requested on the front of 
this form are unavailable, some other identifying information (such as parents’ names, birthplace, etc) may be helpful if multiple 
records are found for common names. 

RESPONSE TIME:  Response time for processing an amendment varies depending upon our workload at the time your request is 
received.  Generally, an amendment is completed and certification(s) issued within two to three weeks.  RUSH processing is 
available to those who need assurance of faster service.  Orders received in an envelope marked RUSH and with the $10.00 
RUSH fee will be given priority over other pending work; no amended certificate can be issued until all required evidence, 
forms, applicable fees and appropriate signatures have been received and meet the criteria as established in rules of the 
department. 

NONREFUNDABLE:  The amendment‐processing fee is nonrefundable, even if the amendment cannot be completed.  In addition, it 
can only be applied to this case and cannot and be credited or transferred to another case. 

 

 

 

 

 

MAIL TO: DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH, VITAL STATISTICS, P.O. BOX 210, Jacksonville, FL 32231-0042 

http://www.floridahealth.gov 


